Whirlwind

So…I finally have a chance to sit down, relax, and breathe again!

This has been the most stressful fall of my life, which is why my blogging has fallen by the wayside.  I’m working full time, taking 2 unviersity courses, working part time doing volleyball reffing, and trying to maintain a healthy social and home life (read: not get mad at, attack, or kill my boyfriend).  September and October were insane, so I’m finally getting some down time and feeling a lot of stress come off my shoulders.  It’s been intense.

With all this stress though, comes another issue.  Burnout.  And not just with my mental or social health.  Nope, this includes diabetes.  I haven’t been checking, dosing or even paying as much attention to it as I should have.  Sometimes I just didn’t feel like it, sometimes I felt like I couldn’t spare the time, and others it was just because I knew I wasn’t going to like the numbers that I saw and I didn’t want to deal with that.  As a result, my A1C has gone up.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s still a good number and for that I’m thankful but I still don’t like it.  I know I can do better, but I just haven’t felt like it.  Ignoring it is easier than dealing with it but I need to get out of that mindset in order to keep myself healthy.  It’s just so damn hard sometimes, and the added stress hasn’t helped. 

The moral of the story is it’s time for me to get back on track.  I have the tools and support I need to do it, I just need to get my butt in gear!  After all the Halloween candy is gone.  (Kidding)  (Sort of.  😛 )

2 thoughts on “Whirlwind

  1. You, Ali, are awesome. I continue to check you blog at least weekly and was delighted this evening to see a new post up. Keep it up, you’re doing wonderful things and are a role model to many. Don’t get discouraged, you’ll find your way back on track. Take some you time (+ the boyfriend sometimes too because he’s awesome!) and you deserve it so much!
    From a very faithful follower,
    Nurse Maggie (if you’re confused, ask the boyfriend!)

  2. Just doing some reading to catch up only favorite bloggers. I love this post and can totally relate! I felt the exact way this past fall as well. Totally just avoided dealing with diabetes all together! Keep up the good work…day by day my friend!

Leave a Reply

