Old Habits Die Hard

A question I get a lot, from people with and without diabetes, is what it was like to be diagnosed as an adult.  The other diabetics I know here were all diagnosed as kids, so they have a completely different perspective than me.

I’ve thought about it a lot, and I think I’ve finally figured out what it is about it that makes it different.  Being diagnosed as a kid (from what I’ve understood), diabetes is just a part of who you are and what you’ve always known.  The treatment and the habits that come with it are instilled at an early age,

As an adult,  I had 26 years to develop my own habits (both good and bad) and it’s really hard to try to change them now,

I know I’m supposed to test before I drive,

I know I’m supposed to test before and during activity.

I know I’m supposed to pre-bolus 15-30 minutes before a meal.

I know I’m supposed to count every carb I eat and dose appropriately.

While I’m pretty good at doing these most of the time, I also regularly forget.  Particularly the driving one (my bad, and I’m trying to get better I swear!).  I have to break all of my old habits before I can make new ones.  That’s easier said then done.  When you’ve spent 26 years being able to drive or eat whenever you want, it’s very hard to remember the new things you’re supposed to be doing.  For me, this is the biggest difference between an adult and a child diagnosis, and it’s what makes an adult diagnosis hard.  It’s not better or worse than a child diagnosis, it’s just different.  At the end of the day, we’re all in this together, and that’s all that really matters.

 

One thought on “Old Habits Die Hard

  1. I always find that question weird. Like, how would I know what it’s like to be diagnosed as a child for comparison?
    and my usual answer is, “It sucks, no matter what the age of diagnosis, it sucks big time”

    p.s. that little wormy sinking down the screen as you scroll is my favourite!

Leave a Reply

