One.

Going through my day today, I had this niggling feeling in the back of my head like today was important and I was forgetting something.  I couldn’t think of it, and pushed it to the back of my brain.  15 minutes later, it hit me. 

May 29.

Today is my one year diabetes anniversary. 

Holy shit.  One year ago today, I was crying in my doctor’s office, knowing nothing would ever be the same.  A little dramatic maybe, but that’s how it felt.

Looking back now, I can barely even remember the actual date (possibly because deep down, I knew what was coming).  All that thinking that nothing would be the same?  Lies spread by fear.  Lots has remained the same.  There’s just a little more planning involved. 

I’m not going to lie and say it’s all be lollipops and rainbows.  It hasn’t.  I’ve been stressed out of my tree on more than one occassion, and I know it’s going to happen again.  That’s why I choose to focus on the positive. 

Because of diabetes, I have been introduced to a fantastic and inclusive community, both online and in real life.

Because of diabetes, I have a new found respect for my health and active lifestyle.

Because of diabetes, I have become  a better label reader, and a more informed consumer.

Because of diabetes, I have started fundraising for the Canadian Diabetes Association (and have raised $3800 to date!)

So there are positives that I’ve come across this year, and those are what I focus on, not the negatives.  I’ve always believed that you have two choices in life:  smile or cry.  I choose to smile.

So this afternoon I’m going to go out and enjoy some of the rare Nova Scotia sunshine, and push this day and its relation to diabetes to the back of mind.  Exactly where it belongs.

4 thoughts on “One.

  1. Congratulations on your first year in the club nobody wants to be in. 😉 Making it through your first year is HUGE!!!! I hope it gets a little bit easier as each year goes by.

  2. Happy anniversary kiddo. You’ve done a heck of a lot in your first year. I took me a few years to try running and eight to start blogging. You’re doing just fine.

Leave a Reply

