Freaky Friday

 

In the home stretch of D-Blog week!  Today’s prompt:

Just like in the movie, today we’re doing a swap. If you could switch chronic diseases, which one would you choose to deal with instead of diabetes? And while we’re considering other chronic conditions, do you think your participation in the DOC has affected how you treat friends and acquaintances with other medical conditions?

This one was hard.  No one ever wants a chronic disease, and I don’t feel like I’d trade away the disease I’m learning how to live with, that let’s me go about my life with relatively little interruptions and discomfort.  Sure highs and lows suck, but compared to the physical limitations of a condition like multiple sclerosis or cerebral palsay, or the chronic pain of fibrmyalgia or arthritis, it’s really not that bad in the grand scheme of things. For that I am thankful.  Would I get rid of it if I had the chance?  Bet your ass I would!  But to trade it for something else?  No thanks.

Except for one thing.

For today, I’m expanding the definition of chronic illness and conditions to include allergies.  So ideally, I’d trade with someone who was allergic to bananas.  Why?

Because I f’ing hate bananas!  The taste, the smell, the texture…everything about them does not appeal to me whatsoever.  A lot of people don’t get that.  Therefore,  if I was allergic to them I wouldn’t have to answer questions like:

“Why don’t you like bananas?  Everyone likes bananas!”

“What about banana splits or banana cream pie?”

“Why not in a smoothie?  You can’t even taste it!” (FYI: yes I can. So there).

So that would be the only scenario in which I would consider trading diabetes for another chronic condition.  Not eating them wouldn’t bother me so it’s a winning situation all around!

Sadly, that’s not likely to happen anytime soon, so I guess me and diabetes will have a long time to get to know each other.  Here’s hoping I handle that better than I handle bananas!

6 thoughts on “Freaky Friday

  1. My daughter is also a young teen with diabetes. I will show her your blog. It will be good for her to read something so nice written by a girl of the same age. Thank you.

    • It’s nice that you think I’m so young! I’m actually 27 so just a little past my teenage years. But feel free to send your daughter here anyways!

Leave a Reply

