Memories

Diabetes Blog Week

 

Day 3!  Today’s prompt:

Today we’re going to share our most memorable diabetes day. You can take this anywhere…. your or your loved one’s diagnosis, a bad low, a bad high, a big success, any day that you’d like to share.

Since it hasn’t even been a year yet since I’ve been diagnosed, and a good chunk of that has been spent with glorious honeymooning sugars, I haven’t had the chance to create many d-memories.  Which in a way is probably a good thing.  No terrifying lows or crazy highs, or even any awkward situations.  Newbie win!

Obviously the biggest stand out day would be my diagnosis date (with my d-anniversary coming up 2 weeks!), but today I’m choosing to focus on something more subtle, but definitely just as impactful.

Celebrating – or maybe recognizing? – my first World Diabetes Day.  Why is that an important memory for me?  It was the first time since my diagnosis that I actually got to meet a group of Type 1 diabetics in person.  I’d started reading blogs and getting into the DOC before then, but these were real people I could have a face to face conversation with!  The relief I felt as well when I could talk about stuff without explaining all of the details was more than I can describe.  And the fact that they welcomed me into a club that nobody wants to be a part of with smiles and good humour was exactly what I needed.  I listened as a bunch talked about what WDD activities they took part in, and made me take note of some I want to do next year!

The effect that that first meeting had on my mental health was indescribable.  Hey, they’re just like me!  They get it!  Hooray!!  *Insert happy dance here*

So to those people present at my first WDD, thank you.  You had more of an impact than you’ll ever know!

Leave a Reply

