Share and Don’t Share

Diabetes Blog Week

 

So I know I’ve been absent from this blog for a while, but life got a little crazy in the last little while.  However, I’ll go into more detail with that later because this week is D-Blog week!

This is actually my first D-Blog Week, as I was diagnosed just after it last year.  It’s a week where those who write diabetes blogs write about different topics each day for a week.  I’m pumped that I get to participate this year!

Today’s topic is share and don’t share, and the prompt is as follows:

Often our health care team only sees us for about 15 minutes several times a year, and they might not have a sense of what our lives are really like. Today, let’s pretend our medical team is reading our blogs. What do you wish they could see about your and/or your loved one’s daily life with diabetes? On the other hand, what do you hope they don’t see?

I wish they could see that living with diabetes isn’t as easy as I make it seem sometimes.

I wish they could see that sometimes, all I want is a piece of cake without having to think about testing and bolusing.  And sometimes I do just that. It’s my choice and I deal with the consequences as they come, diabetes be damned (Actually, I think that’s one of the things I don’t want them to see!  No judgey eyes!).

I wish they would understand my choice to try to keep my carb consumption at under 100g/day, instead of pressuring me to eat more.  I know what my body can handle, thank you very much.

I wish they could see how much I appreciate all the help they’ve given me this past year.  Especially my dietician who really stepped up when my CDE nurse accepted a new position.

I wish they could see how much meeting other diabetics improved my mental health so they could recommend it to all of their clients.

I wish they could know how much of an effect exercise has on my BG, and realize that strength training is just as important and effective as cardio.

I don’t want them to know that most of the time, I just SWAG my bolus (that’s Scientific Wild Ass Guess for those of you who don’t know).  Even though it’s usually an educated guess, there’s times when I just go “Eh, that looks like 3 units!”

I don’t want them to know that I still love the cheap chocolate sales after Halloween and Easter.

I don’t want them to know that the Levemir I’m still using has been open for 6 weeks (and it’s still working!).

I don’t want them to know how often I forget to test throughout the day (FYI, it can be a lot!).

And last, but not least, I don’t want them to know about all of the cheesecake experiments I did on myself to make sure I can get the bolus just right!

As you can see, there’s a lot in my life with diabetes that they don’t see in that short little window of visits, especially when they’re so focused on my diet and bloodsugar numbers.  At the end of the day, the most important thing I want them to know is that I’m doing ok and I’m not letting diabetes get me down.  Which is all that really matters!

4 thoughts on “Share and Don’t Share

  1. I think they SHOULD know about all the cheesecake experiments!! It shows just how hard you are working to find the right bolus combinations for different foods. (Also, mmmmm, cheesecake.) 😉

  2. I love that you did some cheesecake experiments – that is very important stuff! I have done a couple with chocolate and was worth every morsel and high BS to find what I need 🙂 Also I agree that being encouraged to meet other diabetics is huge!!

  3. Can we try more cheesecake experiments when you get home??? I’ll try to find an awesome dietbetic recipe I promise!!!

  4. Haha, I definitely SWAG sometimes, I think anytime you eat out you have to SWAG. I love the cheesecake experiment-I’m going to have to try that at some point 😉

Leave a Reply

