Logging

I’m not the most organized person in the world.  On any given day you can walk into my office and see a scattering of post-it notes with random words, names and phone number all over the place.  Half the time I can never remember what they’re even there for!  And the stuff I don’t write down…there’s a 50/50 chance I won’t remember it again.  The kicker is that I’ve somehow convinced myself that I don’t need to write things down, I’ll remember it for next time.  I’ve become very good at misleading myself!

When I was first diagnosed, I was very good at writing and logging every blood sugar and every meal.  Amounts, number of carbs, insulin dose, you name it.  I was on top of things!  But as time went on, I started to let it slide.  Little by little I just stopped doing it, and my logging fell to the wayside.  This was especially true in the honeymoon period.  Blood sugars were perfect, no insulin was needed, and I could eat almost anything!

But now it seems like the honeymoon is coming to a  close.  Blood sugars are a little more erratic, more insulin is needed and I’m noticing differences with what I eat.  This has been going on since early January.  However, I still wasn’t logging.  I thought I was doing fine, having the occasional high but basically keeping everything where it should be.

Last week I got the appointment notification for my endo.  And we all know what that means:

Image

Courtesy of Type One Diabetes Memes

That’s usually me the night before my appointment, running around trying to remember and record and cursing at my meter when there’s more than one reading for “after meal”.  So this time I decided that I would start logging early.  I went back 3 weeks, and have been keeping it up with about 3 weeks to go before my appointment.

As I was going through and doing this, I realized something.  I haven’t been doing as well as I thought I was.  Where were all these 8s, 9s, 10s and 12s coming from????  Which then got me started worrying about my A1C, which is getting tested next week.  I know these numbers aren’t that high compared to other T1’s out there, but they are for me which is stressing me out thinking that my pancreas is slowly dying again.  On the other hand, I’ve also found that the logging is keeping me more accountable to myself, and making me think harder about about any diabetes decisions I make.

So I’m going to try to keep it up.  I need to know what’s going on in my body so I know how to best care for it.  Here’s hoping I can keep this part of my life organized!  Do endos accept post-it notes instead of logbooks??

Image

Analyze this!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Logging

  1. Urgh, I know how you feel. My appointment is in two weeks, I’m terrified. I always feel so stupid because it makes me look so organised! (How I can be an efficient and organised PA but so unorganised in my own life is beyond me!)

    • It really is! I find it really easy to get overwhelmed by it too, especially if you’re also paying attention to food and exercise. Can be stressful!

Leave a Reply

