Deja Vu

It’s happening again.  I tried to ignore it because I had other stuff going on, but it finally got to be too much to go unnoticed.  The first time it happened it was hard, but deep down I knew it was going to happen again.

I’m signing up to do my second ever powerlifting competition!

Did I have you worried there for a minute?  Hehe!

My coworker asked me a couple of weeks ago if I wanted to compete in the Nova Scotia provincials this upcoming May.  I initially said no, as I’m training for my Team Diabetes run (well…kind of training…may have been  slacking in that department).  But he kept asking me and I finally I said yes.  Which I knew all along I was going to do.  I had so much fun at my first meet that I knew I was eventually going to do another one.  The atmosphere and the support among all the competitors is really amazing and after playing team sports for most of my life, it’s fun to do something just for me!

So I have about 12 weeks to train for this, which means no slacking in the gym, recording numbers, and cutting back on the running (can’t be wasting any gains!).  For goals, I’d ideally like to beat my numbers from my last meet, which were a 143lb squat, 110lb bench press and a 243lb deadlift.  Needless to say, I have a lot of work ahead of me!  But I love weights.  I love feeling strong and capable and bad ass when I lift something heavy.  It has done more for my self confidence than anything else ever has, and when I’m doing it regularly my body feels great.  No aches or pains, and a ton of energy!

  So needless to say, I’m looking forward to slinging some iron around again.  I’ll post some training numbers every now and then to keep myself accountable so be on the watch for them!

Oh, and did I mention this competition is 4 days before my dia-versary?  Gives me even more of a reason to go out and kick some ass!

3 thoughts on “Deja Vu

  1. Awesome! I’ll look forward to following your adventures. Being more of a cardio girl I’m very jealous and seriously impressed by people like you who thrive on strength training.

    I’ll do your running training for you if you want and maybe you can do a couple extra reps for me…

Leave a Reply

