Giving Thanks

So today wraps up the Thanksgiving long weekend in Canada; a time to get together with family and friends and feast on as much food as humanly possible.  With that being said, this was my first holiday as a diabetic so it was a little different.  Even though I’m still honeymooning, I was a little more responsible in terms of how much and what I ate.  Different, but not that bad.  With this diagnosis, I really started reflecting on everything I’m truly thankful for this year, even more so than past years.

Things I’m thankful for:

1.  My life. 

I am extraordinarily thankful to be living in a time and a country where I have relatively easy access to the tools I need to effectively manage my disease.  Had this been a hundred years ago, I likely would’ve been dead or very, very sick right now.  So I am grateful for being able to get up and have dinner with friends today.  If circumstances were different, it could’ve been completely different,

2.  My family.

  Even though they’re thousands of miles away, completely across the country, just talking to them on the phone instantly improves my day.  Especially my sister (she’s my favourite!)  It’s hard to be so far away from them, but I know that they love me, and they’d do as much as they could for me, no matter where I am.  They’ve been extremely supportive through this diagnosis, and I try not to worry them too much.  But I know they always will.  And I love them for that too.

3.  My friends.

Here in Halifax, or back in a Alberta, I have some of the most amazing friends a girl could ask for.  They’re supportive, fun, ridiculous, and have helped me through both good and bad times.  I fully believe that your friends are family that you choose.  Here in Halifax they’re amazing because they’ve taken the place of my family during holidays, so I don’t feel so alone.  And in Edmonton they always welcome me back with open arms and a cold beer.  And to all my friends overseas, I miss you guys like crazy and hope to see you again sometime.  One of my favourite Thanksgivings is still the one I spent abroad, with people who didn’t celebrate it, but still chose to celebrate with me.  For that, I owe them the world.

4.  My boyfriend.

Warning: the following is extremely sappy.  Read with caution!

What can I say, he’s an amazing man!  He was holding my hand when the doctor told me I had diabetes, and stayed with me all through my hospital stay the next night.  He never left my side that whole time.  He came with me to education appointments, helped me to stock up and organize supplies, and talked me through giving my first injection (although he later admitted to laughing at me in his head the whole time!).  He’s a lovable, sarcastic asshole, and I couldn’t be happier to have him in my life.

So that’s what I’m thankful for this year.  Call me sappy and sentimental, but I’ve had a slight change in perspective the last few months.  So take some time to think about what you’re truly thankful for, and take the time to appreciate it.  Trust me.

Have a Happy Thanksgiving!!!

One thought on “Giving Thanks

Leave a Reply

