Goals, they are a changin!

Yesterday was a big day for me.  After two years of work, through all of life’s ups, downs and distractions (including a diabetes diagnosis) I finally reached a milestone in my training.  5 chin ups!  In a row.  EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I was close before I got diagnosed, doing about 3 in a row, and when I got sick I thought it would take me another long while before I got close again.  But here I am, almost 4 months after diagnosis and I pulled myself up over that bar 5 freaking times!  Cue excited music, and in my head happy dance! 

Image

I wish my happy dance was this cool…

This also makes me happy because as of this week, my goals have officially changed.  I found out that I no longer qualify for the powerlifting meet I wanted to do (they changed the qualifying numbers and I came up about 30lbs short…damnit!!) so I found something else to work towards.

A 10km run.

In Iceland.

No, I’m not kidding!  I signed up to be a part of the Team Diabetes fundraiser for the Canadian Diabetes Association, so I agreed to raise at least $6100 for them, and they’ll fly me to Iceland to participate in the event.  I’ve always wanted to go to Iceland, and if I can manage to go while raising money for diabetes, then all the better!!

ImageNow here’s the kicker…I hate running. 

Actually, that’s not fair.  I don’t hate running, it’s just not my favourite form of activity.  As I’ve mention numerous times before, I love weight training.  There’s just something about lifting heavy stuff that makes me feel so amazing, healthy and powerful.  Running makes me feel like I’m going to die.  My sister was always the runner, not me.  So to do this is going to require some extra dedication on my part.

Because I didn’t just sign up for the race.  No no no no no.  That would be too easy.  I also set a time goal for myself (obviously I’m an idiot).  I ran the Bluenose 10km race here in Halifax last May, and I managed to do that in 1:04:32 or something like that.  So for this one, I’m aiming for 55 minutes or less.  Who does that???  Answer:  Crazy people.

So now my fitness goals are going to be working on my endurance and running speed, while trying to maintain strength (after all, the Nova Scotia provincial powerlifting meet is in the spring!).  I’ll be keeping my time in the weight room as well as now adding runs in when I can.  Sounds like fun eh?  I’ll let you know how it goes. Just so you can laugh at my expense.  I’m not above a little self deprecating humour!

 

Also, if any of you would like to make a donation to myself and Team Diabetes, please click here.  Every little bit helps!  

3 thoughts on “Goals, they are a changin!

  1. 5 chin ups!? That’s amazing! Great work!!

    And a 10k in Iceland!?? Even more amazing!! I’ve been thinking about signing up for Team Diabetes but I’m worried I wouldn’t be able to raise those large amounts of money. You’ll have to keep us posted on how that goes. When is the race??

    • Thanks! I’ve been busting my butt towards working on those for literally two years! Feels amazing to get it done! 10km is in August 2013 so I have just under a year to raise the money. Here’s hoping I can do it!

  2. Congrats on the 5 chin-ups! That is awesome about signing up for Team Diabetes, I would like to do a marathon through them one day. And you can definitely do the 10km in under 55 mins, trust me! Good luck with all the training 🙂

Leave a Reply

