D-Treats Volume One

I love snacks.  Like love snacks.  Salty, sweet, sour…it really doesn’t matter.  That’s one of the things that I’ve been struggling with since diagnosis, trying to find something to snack on that won’t wreck havoc on my blood sugar levels.

I was eating a lot of nuts (cashews, almonds, pecans etc) and that worked well for a while, but I’ve  come to realize that too many of them cause me some gastrointestinal distress.  Believe me when I say it’s better for me and everybody around me if I keep my consumption to a minimum.

So what’s a girl to do?

The answer came from a friend of mine on Facebook.  Kale chips.  For those of you who don’t know, kale is a leafy green vegetable, kind of like spinach.  I first heard about it here, on one if my favourite strength blogs.  Seriously, check it out.  I love this guy.  As he says, it’s one of those vegetables that packs a huge nutritious punch and I’ve been meaning to try it for a while but I just never got around to it.

Which brings us back to Facebook.  A friend of mind mentioned making kale chips, and I decided I’d give them a whirl.  Oh.  My. God.  While they’re not quite the same as regular chips, they’re still really REALLY good.  Crispy, salty, nice and light, and I don’t have to dose any insulin for them!  Everybody who’s tried them so far really likes them and they’re super easy to make.  I might have a new favourite!

SO without further adieu, here’s the recipe:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees, and tear the kale into bite size pieces.  Toss them in olive oil, and lay them on a piece of parchment paper on a baking sheet.  Sprinkle with sea salt (I also want to try it with those various popcorn seasonings!).  Bake for around 6 minutes, until crispy.  Keep a close eye on them so they don’t burn.  Believe me when I say that there’s a fine line between crispy and burnt.  Remove from the oven, and eat!  They taste better when they’re fresh from the oven, leave them too long and they lose some of their crispiness.

So it’s a great, healthy snack for diabetics and non-diabetics alike!  Low calorie, low carbohydrate, and damn tasty!  I highly suggest you give it a try.

One thought on “D-Treats Volume One

Leave a Reply

