Iron side

So some of you may be wondering about the iron portion of “Insulin and Iron” comes from.  Well, as mentioned in the “About” page (you did read that didn’t you?), I’m a big fan of weight training.  Meaning I like to lift heavy things, and I may have a small (read:huge) addiction to deadlifts.  They’re awesome!

“There is no point in being alive if you cannot do the deadlift”
-Jon Pall Sigmarsson

I did my first powerlifting meet in January where I hit personal records (PRs) in all three events.  143lbs in the squat, 110lbs on the bench press, and 243lbs in the deadlift.  It’s one of my proudest accomplishments in my training life thus far.

When I got diagnosed, one of the first things that popped into my head was how I was going to able to manage an exercise program.  I hadn’t been working out for the month I was feeling sick, I’d lost a lot of my strength, and now I was worried about what my body was going to do when I was training.

It took me a week to get back in the weight room.  I’m not going to lie, I was scared.  I went with a group of people so that if anything happened, I’d be taken care of.  So there I was with my meter, sugar tabs and water bottle, picking up weight for the first time since my diagnosis.  I was training with a co-worker, and it was an upper body day.  So that meant chess press, one arm rows, batwings (funny name, but they KILL my back!  In a good way!), push ups and lat pulldowns.

It’s been a long time since I’ve lifted that little weight.  But you know what?  It still felt GOOD.  Good to move, good to sweat, and good to give my body an extra push.  It reminded me of why I started strength training to begin with.  To feel empowered, strong, capable, and to have control over my body.  The best part?  My sugar stayed stable.  I checked before, halfway through and after.  That was a huge relief and took a huge load off my shoulders.  I’m extraordinarily happy that I can still make this work in my life.

So that’s my iron side.  It keeps me strong, focused and happy.  And nothing (not even diabetes) can take that away from me.

Leave a Reply

